

City of Albuquerque

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Draft Minutes

2022 Redistricting Committee

District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)
District 2: Keith Romero. Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 2: Noth Romero, Godquin Baca (Alt.)
District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.)
District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.)
District 5: Steve Smothermon, Robert Aragon (Alt.)
District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair), Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

5:30 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

Attendance: District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)

District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.)

District 5: Robert Aragon (Alt.)
District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.) District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Excused: District 5: Steve Smothermon,

District 6: Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

The meeting is available via to watch YouTube: https://youtu.be/XwVPypZAwpg

A. Approval of the May 18, 2022 meeting minutes (Cathryn McGill, 2:31)

A motion to approve the minutes was moved by Quezada and Second by Romero

For: All said AYE, no roll call per Chair

- B. Communications update (Julian Moya, 3:21)
- C. Follow up from Research & Polling, and a roadmap of potential next steps for the Committee to consider (Brian Sanderoff, 8:18)
- D. Committee discussion on any maps submitted via DistrictR in the written public comments (Cathryn McGill, 23:39)
- E. Public comment (1:13:52)
 - Use the "Raise your Hand" function in Zoom to indicate your interest in providing public comment
 - Public comment is limited to 2 minutes per speaker
 - To be promoted to panelist for public comment, please turn on your web camera and identify yourself with your first and last name.
- F. Committee discussion (1:38:31)

A motion to add Fairness for our Future as Citizen Map #5 for consideration to the website was moved by Kellerman, Second by Romero (1:55:40)

For: Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, McGill, Kellerman,

Against Segura, Aragon, Buchholtz, Pascoe (Passes 5-4)

A motion to use the revised Historic COI June 8th map to replace the current Citizen Map #3 for consideration on the website was moved by Kellerman, Second by Reynolds (2:02:00)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe (Passes 9-0)

A motion to remove Concept Map A and Citizen Map #1 replace with Citizen Map #2 as an official map for consideration was moved by Kellerman, Second by Romero (2:10:29)

For: Romero, McGill, Kellerman, Pascoe

Against: Segura, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, Buchholtz (Fails 4-5)

A motion to remove Concept Map D was moved by Kellerman, Second by Romero (2:21:36)

Withdrawn by Kellerman (2:23:50)

A poll was taken to decide the method of voting for the map recommendations, requested by Chair McGill, for consideration of the 8 maps (Concept A, D, E, and Citizen Maps #1, 2, 3, 4 and 5) at the June 29th meeting (2:24:12)

1= Rank Top Three Preference

2= Rating Each Concept

3= Vote Up or Down of Each Concept Separately

Segura=2, Romero=2, Quezada=2, Reynolds=2, Aragon=2, McGill=1, Kellerman=2, Buchholtz=2, Pascoe-2 (Option #2 was chosen on a 8-1 vote)

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES: If you have a disability and require special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Council Office as soon as possible before the meeting date at 505-768-3100. Those in need of hearing assistance may call 711.